Welcoming Board

As a charity and company limited by guarantee, The Welcoming Association is run by a team of volunteer Board members who come from a wide range of professional backgrounds.

Welcoming Board members

Convenor – Anna Valeria Luciani
Valeria is a Russian national and she works as an international HR business consultant.

Vice-Convenor – Daniel Prince
Daniel is British, and a free-lance consultant, and has worked for Changeworks with proven expertise in carbon reduction, behaviour change, waste prevention and working with a wide range of partners.

Treasurer – Martha Fleming
Martha has many years working as a Finance Director in a corporate environment and after more than 18 years working in the whisky industry is now looking to change direction in her career. She has a strong focus on developing a portfolio of smaller business clients, helping them to develop and achieve their business strategy. Not for profit organisations are also of particular interest and she is delighted to join the board of The Welcoming.

Amadu Khan
Amadu is from Sierra Leone and an award-winning human rights journalist, international development educator, researcher and academic, and storyteller-performer artist.

Alison McDonald
Alison is Scottish and the Assistant Head of International Student Support at the University of Edinburgh.

Carolyn Mance
With over 40 years experience as a qualified social worker, Carolyn currently works as a team leader in the Children and Families Department in Edinburgh. She previously managed a service supporting refugees and asylum seekers in the city and has personal experience of living and working in another culture

David Nash
David is British. He is a semi retired commercial lawyer specialising in public sector procurement, infrastructure contracts and legislative drafting.

Keith Watson
Keith is a HR Consultant with over 25 years experience in employment law, training, HR policy, employee relations, diversity & inclusion, and coaching. Here are some pictures from our last AGM in September 2016. Many thanks to everyone who came and to the members who elected the Board.